Don’t Ignore Faults

I have difficulty staying diligent with my parenting.  Some days I just don’t feel like correcting behavior.  I mistakenly think that it will go away if I ignore it.  The sad reality is that it gets worse instead of better.  And the worse the behavior becomes, the harder it is to correct.

Then there are some days that I am not quite sure whether I should correct a behavior or not.  Is what my child doing really that bad?  Sometimes it is downright cute.

One thing that helps me in either of the above situations is to fast-forward 20 years or so.  If an adult threw a tantrum like my child is throwing one or whining at me they way my child is whining at me, what would I think?  This simple shift in perspective has often been a motivation to not grow weary in my parenting journey.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

