Logging Homeschool Hours

In my state, we homeschoolers have to log actual clock hours of homeschooling; and the requirement is 1000 hours per calendar year.  Now that my oldest will be officially starting kindergarten this fall, I am trying to figure out how much time to spend each day and how I will get all those hours.

Then I had a great idea.  I love to multitask.  My kids love audiobooks.  We live 15 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart.  Therefore, if we listen to an audiobook while driving, we could make good use of hours that would be wasted.  That means that once we finish listening to The Wonderful Wizard of Oz we will have logged 4 hours of language arts/literature with hardly any effort.

I know audiobooks are not for everyone.  My parents can’t stand them.  But that is how I have managed to expose myself to many great literary classics, and I intend to use the same method with my children.  I encourage you to give it a try.  Check out your local library for a great selection.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

