Is Your Library Complete?

My parents and I have always prided ourselves on our collection of books.  Between two generations of bibliophiles, we have probably 100+ years worth of information.

Last week, my dad and I were praising my oldest son for learning to read.  My dad went on to say that when he learns to read, he can use our books to learn about weaponry, survival, the military, stories, plants, animals, human bodies, theology, etc., etc., etc.

Afterwards, my son was making himself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  He looked at me and said, “Mommy, does Pappaw have a book about how to make peanut butter?”

“I don’t think so.”

“Do you?”

“No.  But if I ever find a book about it I will buy  it for you.  Maybe when we go back to Neosho to the George Washington Carver Museum or when we drive through Georgia on our way to Florida we will find one.”

I then went downstairs to tell my dad that it only took my son five minutes to find a gap in our reference collection.  All these years we thought that we had nearly every subject covered.  I guess now we have another excuse to buy more books.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

